Skip to content

Make a space for your child desired

December 24, 2011

Whether you believe in the law of attraction or not, you need to make a space for your new child. I have found tremendous satisfaction in the furnishing and decorating of the child’s bedroom. Get the crib, the blankets, do the paint and decals. Even some of the clothing you will need. I highly recommend keeping purchases to used kids clothing stores until your child arrives so that you can better judge the sizes you will need. If you look around, you will find plenty of name brand and cute clothing for sale for a few dollars. Depending on your budget of course, will determine where you shop. I have an entire dresser filled with up to 3 sizes larger than what I anticipate needing to start. All of these items cheap or free through local donation sources.

Of course, you will need to be sure on the sex of your child desired when preparing in advance. We are waiting for a boy, so I chose a denim blue color for the room with a convertible 5 in 1 crib, a used dresser (looks like new) and decals. Some will appreciate the effort to keep costs down. I also found the decals easy to use and create a fun theme.

After it was all set up, I go in there and sit for a while when the house is quiet and focus my thoughts on the child that would fill the space. Some say that 3 minutes of uninterrupted thought can really help draw the child to you. The Law of Attraction in a nutshell says that what you think about you bring about. So if you concentrate on this child and nothing else for up to 3 minutes, this is said to speed  up the process. I have downloaded a photo of a boy, what I envision our child will look like. This requires a bit of searching but it relatively easy. With this photo, I can better visualize the child in his new bedroom.

I have also turned this photo into a bit of a poster and every morning I look at it and read what is written beside the photo. I recommend doing whatever is meaningful to you.

Now, with all of this going on, a person wouldn’t have time to worry about whether or not you will find this child right? This has helped me a lot in staying focused and sane in the process of waiting. If you are reading this, please feel free to comment and tell me other techniques you have used and if you wish to share them.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lis permalink
    January 20, 2012 7:38 PM

    I absolutely believe in Law Of Atrraction and am so happy to hear that you moved to a place of surrendering, for that special child/ren to come into your lives. When all else fails, and logic, stress, obsessing take place ~ we need to let go in order to be in a place of peace (therefore attracting that which our heart and soul desires). I love how you describe the special things you did for that child, to bring her. I too did the same, I wrote a letter to this baby and described her and how she would be loved and cared for, and how she would enhance our life. I looked at it regularly and I dreamed and visualized and prayed to her. Sharing your heart felt story with others is beautiful, comforting and uplifting. We all need hope. Some people for whatever reason do not carry bio children, and perhaps there is a greater role for you to be on this earth to adopt this other child that has chosen you ~though she was carried in someone else’s body. We will not know those reasons in this physical experience. You sound like an amazing mother, very reflective and spiritual. I think people may relate to your story up until this point and how the children’s culture or ethnicity comes into play. You also touched on another excellent issue in adoption and fostering, which is the health and development of the child. You obviously were open to look beyond that and received a healthy child (not that that takes away future worry), though I think many hold back on seeking the child of their dreams through this way – due to negative societal messages about children’s health. You are an example of strength, courage, healing, hope, inspiration, love and guidance to those wishing for the precious wee one. Many will relate to you and I hope they come across your blog. I look forward to upcoming conversations. Best of luck and congratulations.

Comments are welcomed

